Melrose House Guest Testimonials

 

Over the years, Melrose House has earned an excellent reputation for quality and service both from industry organizations like the London Tourist Board and from innumerable satisfied guests. Below you will find some of the most recent recognitions and comments we have received.

 

 Review Melrose House on TripAdvisor

 

June 2013

Dear Mrs. Roberts

+ I thoroughly enjoyed staying at Melrose house and would highly recommend this B and B to anyone who enjoys quiet, comfort, and hospitality. Mrs. Roberts, the proprietor, is friendly and accommodating, while her staff, son, and daughter, are exceptional hosts as well. The full breakfast was delicious, filling, provided a wonderful variety of cold and hot choices, prepared to order. Our sleeping quarters were clean, bright and convenient to the private access. If and when I return to London, I would book my accommodations at Melrose House all over again!

- My only "didn't like" isn't a reflection on Melrose House or its staff. Guests just need to be aware of the distance/time to inner London via train and underground for sightseeing (timing and planning) to avoid being locked out of the underground station after 12:30 am and to learn the bus system quick, fast, and in a hurry!
 



 

 

May 2013

Dear Mrs. Roberts

+ It was only a few minutes from the railway station and the train links to and from central London were excellent. A lovely leafy, quiet suburb. Although there was modernisation work going on it did not interfere with any aspects of our stay there.

The new kitchen dining area is superb. Our two night stay was excellent and all the facilities first class. The choice and quality of food for breakfast was of a very high standard. Fran and Viv were very helpful and friendly and made us feel most welcome.
We would return if we ever had the occasion to visit London in the future.
 



 

 

May 2013

Dear Frances,

Thank you for having us at your nice B&B. We enjoyed our stay very much: room, bathroom and bed are great and the breakfast superb! We'll (or at least I, because I am more often in London) will be back soon!

Kind regards,

Hugo Rietveld & Peter Kronenburg

 



 

 

November 2011
Dear Mrs. Roberts

I would like to thank you for your welcome and for staying at a cozy and warm accommodation. I regard your breakfast as the best I had and I won't forget how tasty it is.

I'm sorry I had to rush to pick up the taxi on Sunday morning and I couldn't express my thanks for your attention and how happy I was.

Thank you very much and I hope going to Melrose House B&B soon.

Florianopolis / Brazil
 



 


July 2011

Dear Mrs. Roberts,

My sister and her Family had the most wonderful stay with you and were highly impressed with the service. Thank you very much for looking after them.
 




 


July 2011

Dear Frances,

We had to rush off to catch our ferry, and you were very busy, so we couldn't say good bye properly and thank you for a very pleasant stay. Rochester Cathedral was interesting, and your tip to go to Whitstable was excellent. Unfortunately though the shops were closed by the time we had finished with our delicious seafood, but a walk along the seafront was an enjoyable alternative.


 




 


May 2, 2011

Hi Frances,

Just a quick note to thank you so much for your awesome hospitality once again. My Mom and I had an awesome time and are definitely a bit sad to be back home now. We will most certainly be back in the future. It was home away from home.

Many Thanks once again!!!!

Darren, South Africa

 

Melrose House
is Rated
Four Stars
by the London Tourist Board.




 


November 2010

Dear Mrs. Roberts,

I would like to thank you for the warm welcome and nice time in your B&B. It really offers excellent value for money and is like a B&B you would expect in the county, not in London. Not to forget the great breakfast and the possibility to communicate in the morning in your dining room. I will surely return on my next trip to London and recommend your home.

Yours faithfully,
A guest from Germany
 




 


November 2010

Dear Mrs. Roberts,

I would like to thank you for the warm welcome and nice time in your B&B. It really offers excellent value for money and is like a B&B you would expect in the county, not in London. Not to forget the great breakfast and the possibility to communicate in the morning in your dining room. I will surely return on my next trip to London and recommend your home.

Yours faithfully,
A guest from Germany
 




 


October 2010

Frances,

Just a quick note to let you know we are safely back in OZ and to thank you for having us at your home, without doubt one of the best B&B’s we have had the pleasure to stay in.

Many thanks,
Guests from Australia
 




 


October 2008

Dear Mrs. Roberts,

We would like to thank you for the wonderful days we could spend in the friendly atmosphere of Your Melrose House.

-Guests from Bratislava
 




 

May 15, 2008

From 9 to 12 May 2008 we had such a pleasant stay in your house. It was like vacation on a little island. The garden room was exactly what we needed to escape from stressy everyday life. So again thanks a lot for your friendly hospitality!
 



Melrose House has been recognized as one of the Top 50 Most Recommended London UK Tourist Accommodations by the London Tourist Board.

 

February 09, 2008

Dear Frances
We are back home in Australia after our special holiday and we want to thank you for the lovely time we spent at your guesthouse in December. Trevor and I look forward to coming back and exploring more at a leisurely rate.
Thank you for our lovely room for 5 . It was very comfortable. Happy New Year
 

Regards
Jenny Anderson
 




 

November 25, 2007

Dear Frances,
Thank you for a lovely weekend stay we look forward
to our visit in Feb 2008. What a fantastic house you
have with A GREAT ATMOSPHERE.

MRS SEYMOUR AND NIECE


 




 

November 2007

I am back at work today plugging away and famished! Why? No breakfast. What a wonderful time and house you manage. Your service and suggestions made a new traveller happy, confident and content. May you continue to be prosperous and your business grow!

With many thanks,
A guest from New York

Melrose House
is Rated
Four Stars
by the London Tourist Board.


 

November 16, 2007

Hi Frances and Vic,
I remember with great pleasure our stay with you in May (2 weeks) and late June (2 days) this year. Your home and your friendship were a great find for us. Alysea, Bev and I (Bronwyn) travelled together from Australia to the “Mind, Body, Spirit Exhibition” in London from 23 – 28 May. We shared a triple room on the top floor for our first stay and subsequently a twin garden room for Alysea and Bev and I had a beautiful top floor room when we returned prior to flying back to Perth in Western Australia on 21st June.

Your hospitality was so welcoming, your facilities were wonderful, your cooking was fantastic and your home was very comfortable and inviting. Thank you once again, we appreciated you so very much.

Recently travelled to Busselton in the south west of Western Australia and stayed at a wonderful B & B called the “Jacaranda Guest House” run by Toni and Chris Otte. They are hoping to tour UK and Europe on a fact finding trip for their business in June 2008. I have thoroughly recommended your establishment to them and know they would enjoy your hospitality.

They have your website and contact information.

Have a wonderful Christmas and New Year. Thank you once again Frances.

Best Wishes,
Bronwyn Kealley
Western Australia


 


 

Guests from the Czech Republic recently wrote:

We would like to thank you for hospitality and
possibility to spend three nights in your Melrose House.
We were satisfied with all - with fantastic room,
delicious English Breakfast and location of your house
as well. We enjoyed four days in London with
beautiful weather.
I will recommend your hotel all my friends.

 



 

A Canadian guest recently wrote:

Dear Frances,

Thank you so much for your fine English hospitality.
We apologize for not using the food you left out on the
day of our exit. Our alarm went off late and we had
ten minutes to get ready for the cab. Talk about cutting
it close! We really enjoyed our time in London and your
B&B was a wonderful place to crash at after long-busy
days in the city. Thanks again for your kindness and
hospitality. It was greatly appreciated.



 

And an American visitor wrote:

Hi Frances,

I will advertise your B&B to everybody I know
that visits England....



 

Thursday, 11th of May, 2006

Hello Frances and Vic,

Thank you so much for your hospitality!
When we come back to London, we will definitely
stay with you again. The breakfast was wonderful
and the room was very cozy. We also really appreciated
your assistance with getting around - your directions to
the motorway came in very handy!

We will also recommend you to all our friends and relatives!

Sincerely,
Michelle Henley
Texas, USA

 

Tuesday, 24th of January, 2006

Dear Frances and Vic,
Thank you very much for a lovely weekend.
I hope to see you soon, on our next visit to London or
maybe in Spain if you pass by.
Best Regards,
Ariel
Torrevieja, Spain

 

Melrose House is maintained and approved to the very high standards required of the
UK Automobile Association as a 4 Star Guest House.


 
Wednesday, 18th of May, 2005

Thank you for being a lovely part of our trip to London.
Several things come to mind when we reflect on our
time with you:

  • Location was great - just a few minutes walk
    from the Penge East train station, and then
    by train not long into London
  • size of the room was nice - larger than the
    room in our friends' apartment
  • superb breakfast - it held us into the afternoon,
    and what a nice variety! We also enjoyed the
    international flavour of your guests
  • cleanliness - everything was spotless
  • bathroom - though it wasn't ensuite and
    it was across the hall, it was just fine and
    HUGE. We felt very pampered
  • tea tray - this was an unexpected pleasure
    to have in our room, complete with a full
    biscuit tin!

All in all, it was a wonderful place to stay and we
would highly recommend it!
Thank you again!
Steve & Karen Frantzen
Tennessee, USA

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Written testimonials may be edited slightly for space, grammar or other considerations.

 

For more reviews of Melrose House, visit our rating page on TripAdvisor.com.

We have a lovely large family room for children of all ages


MELROSE HOUSE IS A NON SMOKING ESTABLISHMENT

© 2012, Melrose House Hotel